Reflections… a Scripture verse and inspiration for daily living [8/7]

Passage: Psalm 59
Verse: Psalm 59:1-2, 15-16 (NIV 2011)

Deliver me from my enemies, O God; be my fortress against those who are attacking me.   Deliver me from evildoers and save me from those who are after my blood.
and
… I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble.  You are my strength, I sing praise to you; you, God, are my fortress, my God on whom I can rely.

There are times when we may feel persecuted or personally under attack.  In reading Psalm 59 we can find some comfort.  In addition, we learn how the Lord will punish those who hurt us, His people.  However, we should not take pleasure in this fact, nor should we take any steps to avenge the wrongs done to us by others.  May we remember that the Lord says It is [His place] to avenge; [He] will repay. In due time [our enemies feet] will slip; their day of disaster [will draw] near and their doom [will rush] upon them.  [Deuteronomy 32:35]

May we rest upon the Lord and know we can rely on Him.  While Psalm 59:10 tells us He will let us gloat over those who slander us – take care; He reminds us that He will also search our hearts and minds – He will repay each of us according to our deeds [Revelation 2:23].  Through Jesus Christ, may our hearts and minds be found as clean and white as a freshly fallen snow.

About riverrunchurch

The River Run Church is affiliated with the International Church of the Nazarene. We are located in the North Central Mission Area of the Maine District.
This entry was posted in Bible, Encouragement, Inspirational, Prayers, Scripture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.